What age are you..?

SRB911B

What age are you?

Birthday tomorrow – in one hour and eight minutes
Another age to entertain, examine, get used to…

And –
when half way through the year –
consider the next one, to be sure

Before it’s time – it will suggest itself
“Act in accordance with me – coming up”
It will say.

“When someone asks your age
respond:
‘it is nearly such and such…’ ”
It will say.

It’s before it’s time, yes:
but you might as well
embrace it now,

Bear in mind it’s just around the corner
“You’re almost there anyway”, it will say

Only half a year to go.
So…

I’m in my next age before it arrives
It stretches back in time to grab me by the lapels
And hoist me into it’s orbit

I’m always a year older than I am
Because once that day of birthday arrives

It’s too late – you have only 364 days to go
So…

Just round it off to the next one
Just add “I’m nearly…” to the inevitable

Say what-you-will-be – next year, when asked

You are tomorrow what you are not today
But tomorrow you are on your way
to the next year’s birthday – day.

Keeping one step ahead of the game
There’s no reverse order

So…

‘Time and tide waits for no…’
‘Time is at a premium…’
‘Ti…i…i…ime
– is on my side, Yes it is…..’

The lyric is wrong –
It’s waiting
on the other side

of your birthday

It’s pace is increasing
day after day
you are on your way…
forty-seven minutes to your birthday
but add another year,
just for realities sake.
(NB: It is not my birthday 😃)

3 thoughts on “What age are you..?

Leave a Reply

