Pop Festival

Pop Festival

Pop Festival – I suppose that’s what we called it
One in particular was a turning point for me
Plumpton near Brighton, if correct my memory be

With beer in hand – running, startled, at sudden sound
The Festival had begun – this was a beckoning call
Running with a friend – ‘it’s about the music, that’s all’

But the atmosphere on me was dark and lost
I didn’t understand it’s foggy devilment
Only that the darkness was not heaven sent

Extremity of hopelessness – lost and undone
I tried to grasp why? Everything should have been fine
But a battle was ensuing for this soul of mine

I stood up and danced before all
Reaching for the sky for some answer – not found
Feet in the air, but soul on the ground

Inner conflict, doubt, confusion and all
Pain and hurt, depressed, with chagrin
‘Why am I here?’ ‘What has brought me to this bin?’

Many thoughts – none making sense
Laughed at, mocked and told to sit down
Fearful, confused, thinking myself a clown

Ashamed and something else,

I got over it – and carried on my way
Living to fight another day

But many months later
The lost was found
as Grace came after
That shadowy time –
and tears turned to laughter

It’s the way the Christ always works
Drawing near to the tears of despair
Sending to flight the power of the air

Dark and lost devilment
From the heart that cries out
– has to leave –
when faith replaces doubt

Its a strange language to others
when a man can say –
I met Jesus today.

4 thoughts on “Pop Festival

Leave a Reply

