“I Say…”

“I SAY”
He used to point and say: “I say”
The repetition of which became obnoxious day after day.
I say boy you and me are going to fall out…”
I say we are going to fall out…”
“I don’t want to see that happen again”, I say “I don’t want to see that again”.
“If it happens again” I say “If it happens again – you’ll get the cane”
I say you’ll get the cane…”
And then again and again and again and again…
As though his first rendition hadn’t made things plain.

Later I heard he retired from the teaching profession
Took up a pen-pushers job as a civil servant – was it the petty sessions?
And when reminiscing one day
I just happened to say
“We had a teacher who said I say every day.”
And to my surprise the person to whom I spoke
Almost spilt her tea and suddenly started to choke
“I know of whom you speak” she managed to say
We called him: “I say” nicknaming him appropriate-ly
So there you go “I say” had moved on to a new profession
To fill the office of his new found job with his unforgettable obsession
“I say…” with his unforgettable obsession…

Leave a Reply

