Early beginnings

first watercolour better

EARLY BEGINNINGS

I came across this little painting again, after many years. It used to hang in my late mother’s apartment.

Though the memory of producing it, is very vague, I remember that it was a copy from an ‘encyclopaedic-type’ book. It might even have been in black and white.

It was painted in my pre- or early teens. It could well have been my first attempt at a watercolour. And I’m somewhat marvelling at its simplicity and yet correct tonal expression.

The faint pencil lines show through. The tree/bush green to the left is fainter than the green capturing the closer trees to the right. There is a tiny little figure in the sail-boat to the right – I can’t believe I indicated it – as small as it is. (approx 1mm). Bear in mind that my art education was practically zero at this stage.

I have no idea who the artist was – that I was copying. At the bottom right I have written: either ‘Rodin or Robin copy by D. K. Riddles’.

Does anyone recognise it? What painting is this child using as his reference point? The reference point was probably about 3 inches wide. And the finished painting is 9” x 7”.

Painted with cheap pan paints, not even on watercolour paper, with again the cheapest of small brushes. I embrace it as my own!

To be able to go back in time and take a look over my own shoulder – my – that would be interesting!

5 thoughts on “Early beginnings

      1. Yes and no. I did not start doing art until I was about 40 and I have taken a few classes here and there, but I am pretty much self-taught, so no classwork, really. I do have photos of most of my work, but I don’t view them the same way you expressed in your post. I think back to younger years and what I have pride in or feelings for – really, not much. I do tend to be a person living in the present and I’m happy to be here compared to other times. Hmmm. You gave me a lot to think about here!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I always find the term ‘self taught’ a strange one. I know what you mean – so I too am self taught. But my thought is ‘Isn’t everyone?’ – our unique fingerprint is on all we do anyway. My nostalgic streak surfaces sometimes. Memories of mum etc. But you are right to live for the present. Thanks for sharing.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. This has given me something to think about. I have taught many art classes. So I taught, but was it that the students learned, and it is not the teaching, but the learning? Same thing for me calling myself self-taught. Anyway. Interesting to think about. Thank you.

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

